Mortar is the binding material used in masonry construction to seal the connection between the modular components (i.e. brick, CMU). There are three main components in any type of mortar:
  1. Sand- The most common fine aggregate used in mortars is sand
  2. Cement- The component used to bind the aggregate
  3. Water- Potable water is used to hydrate the mixture
and additionally
The most common type of mortar is the basic Portland Cement Mortar, a mixture of sand, portland cement, and water. It features a high compressive strength, it hardens at a consistent rate, it is effective in resisting damage during freeze/thaw cycles, and has a low water retention.

Lime mortar is a mixture of sand, slaked lime, and water, and is a breathable mortar (that is, it allows moisture to pass through it). It is used commonly in old buildings, and should be used when repointing them, as using a Portland Cement Mortar may trap moisture inside the wall system when it was originally designed to breathe.

Pozzolana mortar is a mixture of pozzolanic ash, lime, and water. It is a dense mortar and according it can be set underwater and can be stronger than Portland Cement Mortars.

There are five basic mortar types:
There are no comments on this page.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional :: Valid CSS :: Powered by WikkaWiki